Date: Tue, 20 Jul 1999 13:05:44 -0700
From: savepacifica

KPFA TO BE BROADCAST LIVE OVER INTERNET

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Sameer Parekh 650-812-9400 x134
510-291-2283

Within the next few days, KPFA programmers will continue their regular programming. Because The Pacifica Foundation has shut down the radio station and seized control of the KPFA frequency and transmitters. The new Free KPFA progamming will be aired via the internet at
http://LIVE.FREEKPFA.NET/
as well as via FM micropower at FM 87.9.

"The Pacifica Foundation owns the KPFA building, the transmitter, and the frequency, but they do not own the minds nor heart of the KPFA community," said Sameer Parekh. "Pacifica can take away the building, the transmitter, and the frequency, but they can't take away or make quiet the KPFA community."

For more information on the KPFA crisis, see
http://www.savepacifica.net/

Wed. July 21, 4:00 pm Pacific time
LIVE BROADCAST on Sonoma County's KRCB 91.1 FM

Update: Nationwide Phone In Broadcast Scheduled For Wednesday 7/21

The Crisis At Pacifica:
A special edition of:
The Nobody Show - Your Unabashed Voice of the Left and Left Out

A VERY, VERY ROUGH SCHEDULE FOR THE BROADCAST (SUBJECT TO CHANGE)

7:00 - 7:25 EST (4:00-4:25 Pacific)

What is, was, and could be Pacifica and what's gone wrong? Guests:
Former Pacifica President, Peter Franck media critic, Norman Solomon

7:25 - 7:30 EST (4:25-4:30 Pacific)

A few intemperate words from Nobody about Fairness and Accuracy In Reporting

7:30 - 8:00 EST (4:30-5:00 Pacific)
What's happening where in Pacifica
Guests:
fired KPFA programmer, Larry Bensky
WBAI Shop Steward, Errol Maitland
KPFK LAB chair, David Adelson

8:00 - 8:30 EST (5:00-5:30 Pacific)

What comes next?
Guests:
Colin Frederics, President of WRPI, Troy NY
Doug Noll, President Fresno Free College Foundation (owners of KFCF, 88.1 FM, Fresno, CA)
Dan Siegel, attorney for plantiffs suing Pacifica

8:30 - 9:00 EST (5:30-6:00 Pacific) This slot will be left open till the last minute for Lynn Chadwick or Mary Frances Berry.

The call-in number for this broadcast will be 800-213-WEOS (800-213-9367)

The following stations have already confirmed that they will be carrying this broadcast live on the air:

KALW San Francisco
KBOO, Portland, OR
KFCF, Fresno, CA
KMUD, Redway, CA.
WEFT, Champaign, IL
WEOS, Geneva, NY
WORT, Madison, WI
WRPI, Troy, NY

Stations interested in carrying this broadcast will find it on the NPR satellite at A73.1. mono

It will also be available via RealAudio/MP3 through the following Websites:
http://www.hws.edu/~weos
http://www.kmud.org
http://LIVE.FREEKPFA.NET/

Back to the main opening window...